Aida Tomeh Distinguished Service Award

Sociological Focus (Journal)


The Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Eastern Illinois University invites applications for a full-time, non-tenure track, Instructor positio ..

The Spring/Summer Newsletter

The 2017 Spring/Summer Newsletter is out! Click here (/north-central-sociologist-newsletter)to read about the keynote address and plenary speaker  ..

North Central Sociologist

The Fall/Winter 2016 edition of the North Central Sociologist is now posted! Check it out for conference information! ..

2017 Conference and Awards

Planning to attend the 2017 NCSA conference in Indy? The conference submission system is open until December 9th. Remember all you need is an abst ..

Conference Registration

Don't forget to pre-register for the conference! The deadline for pre-registration is March 1st. You can access the registration system at: http:/ ..

Scholarly Achievement Award Due November 15th

Make sure to nominate a colleague's work, or your own for the 2016 Scholarly Achievement Award! Go to: ..

There's STILL time!

I know we said we wouldn't do it this year, but we just did! The submission portal will remain open until November 8th, 2015 at midnight. So, if trick ..

NCSA Fall 2015 Newsletter

The Fall 2015 Newsletter is now available! Click here (/north-central-sociologist-newsletter)to read about the 2016 conference, award nominations, ..

2016 Joint MSS/NCSA Meeting in Chicago

Make sure to check out and Like the joint meeting page on Facebook to stay updated on all conference information. Visit: ..

The Gift of Diagnosis

A friend of mine wrote this poignant piece on receiving and dealing with "the gift" of diagnosis. It thoroughly illuminates the experience of being of ..

Sociological Focus is the official journal of the North Central Sociological Association. Published continuously since 1968, the quarterly journal is international in scope, covering a full range of topics of current interest to sociology and related social science disciplines. Sociological Focus is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high quality research on substantive issues of importance to the study of society. The journal’s mission is broad in scope, encompassing empirical works (both quantitative and qualitative in nature), as well as theoretical and analytical works of interest to the general sociology reader. The journal is published by Taylor & Francis: www.tandfonline/usfo.

A submission must include the following three documents, formatted as described:

  1. Title Page: Include the full title, the name(s) of author(s), and the institutional affiliation of each author, and a running head. Designate the corresponding author with full address. In a footnote, also provide acknowledgements, credits, grant numbers, and other pertinent information about the article.
  2. Abstract: On a separate page, headed by the article title and omitting author identification.
  3. Paper: The title should be included on the first page. Omit author identification. Headings and subheadings in the text organize the content. Generally, three levels of headings are sufficient for an article. Refer to the ASA style manual or an ASA publication for examples.

Sociological Focus receives all manuscript submissions electronically via its ScholarOne Manuscripts site located at:

ScholarOne Manuscripts allows for rapid submission of original and revised manuscripts, and facilitates the review process and internal communication between authors, editors, and reviewers via a web-based platform. If you have any other requests, please contact the journal’s Editor, Annulla Linders,

Submission of a manuscript to Sociological Focus clearly implies a commitment to publish in this journal. Previously published papers and papers under review by another journal are unacceptable. Authors are responsible for obtaining permission to reproduce copyrighted material from other sources and are required to sign an agreement for the transfer of copyright to the publisher on behalf of the society. All accepted manuscripts, artwork, and photographs become the property of the publisher.

Past Editors of Sociological Focus

2009 – 2013 Gustavo Mesch, University of Haifa, Israel

2004 – 2009 Steve Carlton-Ford and Paula Dubeck,University of Cincinnati

2000 – 2004 Gay Kitson, University of Akron

1998 – 2000 Robert K. Shelly, Ohio University

1994 – 1998 Kent P. Schwirian, Ohio State University

1992 – 1994 Stanley S. Robin, Western Michigan University

1988 – 1992 Ralph Wahrman, Bowling Green State University

1982 – 1988 Bebe Levin and Elizabeth I. Mullins, Kent State University

1978 – 1982 Norris Johnson and William Feinberg, University of Cincinnati

1974 – 1978 Samuel A. Mueller and Margaret M. Poloma, University of Akron

1971 – 1974 John W. Petras, Central Michigan University

1969 – 1971 John H. Lindquist, Trinity University

1967 – 1969 Kent P. Schwirian, Ohio State University


Print Friendly