NCSA Business Meeting Minutes

Chicago, IL April 5, 2007

President Jay Howard welcomed everyone to the NCSA Awards and Business Meeting.

Secretary: Leslie Wang reported the election results of the new NCSA officers for 2007: President-Elect Jay Weinstein, Eastern Michigan University; Vice-President-Elect Lynn Ritchey, University of Cincinnati – Raymond Walters College; Council-at-Large Carolette R. Norwood, University of Cincinnati; Student Section Chair Shelly A. McGrath, Ball State University.

Executive Officer: Dean Purdy reported that the NCSA Conference will be held in Cincinnati, OH in 2008 and in Dearborn, MI in 2009. He will welcome comments related to the joint meeting with MSS.

Vice President: Jay Weinstein reported that there is a good turnout for this year's meeting. Thanks to Vice President Lissa Yogan, Teaching Section Chair Debra Swanson, Executive Officer Dean Purdy, President Jay Howard, MSS Executive Officer Lauren Tiffany, and MSS President-Elect Helen Moore for their work in planning and organizing this year's joint meeting.

Resolution: "Whereas, the NCSA received considerable support, service, and commitment from many individuals and organizations in the preparation of its annual meeting held in Chicago, IL, April 4-7, be it resolved that the NCSA extends its profound appreciation and sincere gratitude to the following:

Helen Moore, MSS President-elect, for her work guiding the joint program; the entire Program Committee including Jay Weinstein, Lissa Yogan, and Debra Swanson; the staff (particularly Brian Boucher) at the Downtown Marriott on North Michigan Street, Chicago; the Local Arrangements Committee members; Keith Roberts, Kathleen Piker King, and Diane Bryant for organizing and leading the High School Sociology Teacher's Workshop; and Lauren Tiffany, MSS Executive Officer, Dean Purdy, and Anna Linders without whom there would be no conference."

Treasurer: Anna Linders reported that the NCSA finances are in good shape. At last year's meeting, 300 members pre-registered as compared with 245 for this year. Last year's members totaled 350, and this year we have 275. We tried the on-line registration system for the first time this year; it is not a user-friendly system. For the Butler-Jones Scholarship Fund, we have enough money to give out a few scholarships.

Awards: Keith Roberts reported that the Lifetime Distinguished Career Award will be a new award next year; the first recipient of the award will be J. Milton Yinger, whom the award is named after. J. Milton Yinger cannot be here to accept the award. A brief

introduction to Yinger's career was given. Thanks to the members of the committee: Harry Potter and Kent Schwirian.

Tom Brignall reported that the Aida Tomeh Distinguished Service Award is given to Barry Johnston, Indiana University Northwest. Barry cannot be here to accept the award. Natalie Haber provided a brief introduction to Barry's career.

In-coming Teaching Committee Chair Kathy Rowell spoke on behalf of current Chair Debra Swanson. The new President-Elect, Jay Weinstein, Eastern Michigan University, is this year's John F. Schnabel Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award recipient.

Hans Bakker reported that there are two recipients of the Scholarly Achievement Award. Both of their books incorporate complex theoretical ideas. The recipients are Clifford Bob, Duquesne University and Mansoor Moaddel, Eastern Michigan University.

Fayyaz Hussain reported that there the Student Paper Awards Committee 31 papers total for the graduate and undergraduate competitions. Committee members included Cliff Broman, Scott A. Desmond, Geoffery Habron, Sara Hare, Edward Morris, Mary Ann Kanieski, Donna Kauffman, and Naomi Roslyn. The graduate division paper competition included third place recipient Nicolas Somma, University of Notre Dame (Rory McVeigh, Advisor), second place recipient Suzanne Crage, Indiana University (Elizabeth Armstrong, Advisor), and first place recipient Yasmiyn Irizarry, Indiana University (Brian Powell, Advisor). The undergraduate division paper competition included third place recipient Maryann Erigha, University of Notre Dame (Rory McVeigh, Advisor), second place recipient Anazette Hudson, University of Akron (C. Andre Christie-Mizell, Advisor), and first place recipient Alice Holohan, Saint Mary's College (Susan Alexander, Advisor). Two more members are needed to serve on the committee for next year.

Passing of the President's Gavel: Jay Howard passed the gavel to new NCSA President Robert Shelly. Robert Shelly thanked the members of the NCSA for their good work.